Albert Aguayo

Secretary General, International Brain Injury Foundation

Dr. Aguayo was born in Bahia Blanca, Argentina. After studying in Cordoba at the Colegio Nacional de Monserrat and at Cordoba's University School of Medicine, he obtained scholarships to pursue additional training in Canada and the United Kingdom in the early 1960s. Dr. Aguayo has been a professor at McGill University, in Montreal since 1965. Dr. Aguayo has also lectured in graduate and postgraduate courses at several other institutions including: Harvard University, Cold Spring Harbour and the Marine Biology Institute at Woods Hole, Massachusetts.

A scientific journal editor as well as a member of several Editorial Boards, he has authored more than 150 scientific publications and is the recipient of several awards. These include the Gairdner International Award, Wakeman, Helmerich, Ameritec, Ipsen, Leo Parizeau, Cotzias, Wilder-Penfield (Prix du Quebec), the Alcon Research Institute Award for Vision Research, the Killam Prize and the Christopher Reeve Medal for 1999. He has received honorary degrees from the University of Lund (Sweden) in 1987 and Queen's University (Canada) in 1995. He is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Canada and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences (USA) and an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Dr. Aguayo has given many named lectures in Canadian, U.S. and foreign universities. His past administrative responsibilities include the Presidency of the North-American Society for Neuroscience, the Canadian Neurological Society, the Canadian Association of Neuroscientists and the third World Congress of the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO). He has also served as Scientific Director of the Canadian Neuroscience Network of Centres of Excellence and is presently Vice-President and Member of the Board of Directors of the Neuroscience Canada Foundation . He is a member of several scientific advisory boards and committees of granting and philanthropic organizations such as the Pew Charitable Trusts Scholars and Latino-American Fellows Programs (USA), the Ipsen Foundation (France), the Gairdner Foundation (Canada).

He is presently the Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Friedrich Miescher-Institute in Basel (Switzerland) and has been recently appointed to the Consortium Advisory Panel (CAP) of the Christopher Reeve Paralysis Foundation (USA). He is the past Chairman of the Council of Scientists of the Human Frontier Science Program (Strasbourg) and has served as a member of advisory committees of, among others, the Medical Research Council of Canada, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (USA), the American Paraplegia Association, the Rick Hansen Man in Motion Legacy Fund (Canada), the Grass Foundation (USA), the Max-Planck Institute of Munich (Germany) and the Riken Institute's Frontiers Program (Japan).

He was recently elected Secretary-General of the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO), which is based in Paris and represents 55,000 neuroscientists in 111 countries. His main scientific interest is in the study of the mammalian central nervous system's capacity for regeneration and repair.